The State University Of Zanzibar

Suza History

The State University of Zanzibar (SUZA) was established by Act No. 8 of 1999 of the Zanzibar House of Representatives which was then amended by Act No. 11 of 2009, and further re-amended by Act No. 7 of 2016. The latter amendment has justified SUZA to merge with other Zanzibar higher learning institutions; these are the then Zanzibar Institute of Financial Administration (ZIFA), College of Health Sciences (CHS) and the Zanzibar Institute of Tourism Development (ZIToD). His Excellency Dr. Hussein Ali Mwinyi, the President of Zanzibar and Chairman of the Revolutionary Council is the Chancellor of the University. The University became operational in September 2001.

Currently, SUZA consists of nine campuses that are found at equally beautiful but different locations within the islands. Eight campuses are located in Unguja and one campus in Pemba Island.

Tunguu is the main SUZA campus located about 12 km away from Zanzibar town. The campus is actually huge and brand new decorated with green field that offers cutting-edge infrastructure of the World standard. It gives to students a local alternative to some of the world’s attractive learning environments.

The second campus is inherited from the first Teachers’ Training College in East Africa, Nkrumah campus at Beit el Ras. This is located along the coast of the Indian Ocean 5 kilometres away from the Stone Town; Nkrumah is a unique and unparalleled campus in the region that is constantly and naturally decorated by glittering blue sea and white sand beach along the perimeter of the campus. Here, our students enjoy very enriching learning environment along with the sea breezes.

Vuga as the third campus is located in the heart of the famous and historic Stone Town. Zanzibar is proud of this campus and it is very magnificently conserved by UNESCO World heritage site that vividly manifests rich culture and history of Zanzibar and its people. Thus, Vuga campus is composed of old but well kept historic structures that are surrounded by social amenities and public offices.

Benjamini Mkapa as the fourth Campus is located in Mchangamdogo at Pemba Island. This campus is inherited from the Benjamin Mkapa Teachers’ Training College.

The fifth Campus is Maruhubi which is situated along the Indian Ocean sea shore 4 kilometres away from the town centre, and 14 kilomeres away from Zanzibar airport. To reach public and private transport is readily available at a reasonable cost.

Chwaka is the sixth Campus located at Chwaka village; scenic fishing village in Central District 30 kilometres away from Zanzibar town.

The seventh Campus is inherited from the then College of Health Sciences at Mbweni. More new campuses that will house new schools are expected to be built in the next five years in accordance with the university strategic plan. These will be located in both, Unguja and the sister island of Pemba.

As an academic public institution, SUZA commits to deliver quality education to transform society to be well educated, to acquire responsible leadership and practical entrepreneurial skills, and to adopt democratic citizenry. Most importantly, SUZA fully contributes in preparing and shaping future leaders of the country both in private and public sectors. At heart, SUZA strives to fully contribute towards establishing a sustainable society amidst the ever emerging new challenges of the 21st century and challenges of the future.

SUZA aims at elevating its reputation even higher. In addition to its reputation in offering quality education, SUZA strengthens its research undertake in order to globally contribute in generating new knowledge and thus, answering difficult questions that puzzle the world today.